Hollywood Handbag Heritage

For the most part, I am indifferent to celebrity’s handbag preferences. Since most ‘celebrities’ bore me, by default so do their fashion choices. What intrigues me more are what the old stars of Hollywood used as arm candy. Granted most stars did not seem to abide by the now common place rule of only wearing what is popular now by the current ‘hot’ designer. True, most styles consist of my personal favourite type of bag, the lady like (as I call it). However by the time of the mid 50’s, other designers began to peek into the realm of celeb-bag.

Please note that I am not a fan of the Speedy bag by Louis Vuitton with Audrey Hepburn. While Audrey herself is always a treat to behold, I hate monograms! Speedy is actually a decent, compact size (I am lucky enough to own a similar shape to Speedy. I can vouch that it is a great size, can hold plenty but never looks bulky). Greta Garbo’s bag from Gucci is the forth picture, a very narrow depth and not very practical.

Audrey hepburn speedy

marlene dietrich Hermes MS

11th July 1961: Actress Elizabeth Taylor with her fourth husband Eddie Fisher at Heathrow Airport, London. (Photo by Express/Express/Getty Images)

11th July 1961: Actress Elizabeth Taylor with her fourth husband Eddie Fisher at Heathrow Airport, London. (Photo by Express/Express/Getty Images)

Garbo Gucci

sophia loren hermes

catherine denueve kelly bag

2 comments

  1. I’m not fond of monograms, either. There is a LV fabric used for bags (more for the Men’s offerings) that is a dark green with a texture. I like that feel/look.

    1. That does sound grand. Beats monograms anyday

Leave a Reply

