Nadja Auermann: About Face

THIS POST CONTAINS NUDITY

Though I prefer the chic and tailored style of 30’s-50’s. I do have a nostalgic soft spot for early 90’s fashion. Admittedly, not the most sophisticated decade. More emphasis on grunge ‘anti-chic’ then looking  ‘good’. Still, since I was born in the mid 80’s and grew up in the early 90’s; I will always glow then glancing at grungy fashion. Taking me back to my childhood. While this particular 90’s model did not register  until very recently. Her pictures kept popping up, almost like the universe wanted me to notice her. What really piqued my interest was when I saw clip of her speaking about Bettie Page during the excellent documentary film; ‘Bettie Page Reveals All’. Thus I was compelled to seek her further. Presenting Nadja Auermann.

Born on 19th March 1971 in Berlin, Germany. On a superficial level, I am drawn to Piscean women, being one myself. She was discovered in 1990, signed first to Karin Modelling Agency (Paris). Then to Elite Model Management. After appearing on the cover of Vogue Paris, Auermann rose to be a cover girl for ‘Vogue’,’I-D’, ‘Harper’s Bazaar’, ‘Esquire’ and ‘W’ magazines (including international editions for Germany, French, English, American and Italian). As far as runway work goes, Auermann featured in some of the most high end and hip clothing shops. Benetton (THE clothing shop of my childhood), Versace, Prada, Dior, Chanel, Dolce & Gabbana, YSL, Armani, Hermes and Valentino (Valentino claimed that Auermann resembled Marlene Dietrich, high praise indeed).

Auermann has posed for some (if not all) of the top photographers. Ellen Von Unwerth, Herb Ritts, Richard Avedon, Helmut Newton, Mario Testino and Irving Penn. If these achievements were not impressive, enough Auermann holds the Guinness Book Records for the longest legs (1997 and 1999). Sadly she lost the record to Adriana Sklenarikova and Ana Hickman. She was also one of the models who appearing the George Micheal’s iconic video for ‘Too Funky’.

With being the ‘face’ of Shiseido and acting in the film ‘Sleeping Beauty’s Silent Death’. Auermann has riden the wave of early the 90’s better then most. Granted she has done some more recent work, but I prefer focus on the early 90’s pictures. Beautiful work is beautiful regardless of time.

90's NA

nadja_auermann pin-up

Harper's Bazaars NA

NA striking

nadja auerman

Nadja Auerrman

One comment

  1. I’m a fan of the 1990’s pumps, too!

Leave a Reply

